Peace Tea

21 September International Day of Peace … instituted by the United Nations in 1981 … first observed in 1982 … the theme this year is “Youth, Peace and Development”…

*I know nothing about the company that put out the above video … I did like the message and wanted to pass that along*

we have a poster at the top of our stairs…

by the amazing  Shepard Fairey … I have often thought … if only more people could get along like we do here in the blogosphere…

a minute of silence at noon in your time zone will help create a wave of contemplation on the possibility/reality of PEACE around the globe…

for another opportunity to get on the Peace train … won’t you consider joining Mimi Lenox for Blogblast for Peace …“Dona Nobis Pacem” – Latin for Grant Us Peace

this will be the 7th year where bloggers in over 50 countries unite … this year the date is 4 November … details can be found here (there is also a button on my sidebar)…

I am enjoying a cup of Yogi tea and a piece of my Mutti’s scrumptious Zwetschgen kuchen (plum cake)

Happy T Tuesday Dear Ones … wishing you Peace * Love * Light … today and every day …

quick footnote:  I Loved that poster so much I bought a white T shirt with the same logo and I don’t even wear T shirts 😉


22 responses to “Peace Tea

  1. oo that looks so delicious…peace to you as well, dearest…love your poster

    Like

  2. that looks so good! happy peaceful tea day to you too my dear!! love your poster too!! xox

    Like

  3. The poster is superb! Have a peaceful day!

    Like

  4. We’ll be thinking of you while making fabric paper..don’t know what I’ll do with it though!

    Like

  5. I had know idea of the special date until very early this morning. One of the kids I drive to school with my daughter, said in the cheerfulest of voices, “Happy International Day of Peace everyone!!!” Leave it to “mere” kids to remind us of the important things 🙂

    Happy Day today Patty! hugs, Kimmie

    Like

  6. It’s been years since I heard that Latin phrase, Patty. Then my mind jumped to the songs “Ride the Peace Train” and “Imagine” – and even that old Coca-Cola commercial “I’d like to teach the world to sing . . . “. Whatever happened to those messages?!? Hope you have a day filled with peace, joy and love. Peace Out! Hugs, Terri xoxoxo

    Like

  7. My nephew has that t-shirt. I love the design on it.
    Pass the plum cake! And I already KNOW I want a SECOND piece!

    Like

  8. Peace and Happy Day to you too. i had never seen that poster before but have wrote that motto for many years . Make Art Not war ! LOL
    Love to have a poster like that for my Art room too.
    I will try to get something together for the 21st too if I can. i read your blog often .
    Peace ,terica

    Like

  9. Love Shepard Fairey- that’s a great poster!! I will have to check out the link for the Nov 4 “thing”. Now, off to cook, eat, and freeze some fresh picked edamame- a first for me!!!

    Like

  10. Dear Patty – happy peace day! Right now I am enjoying a peacful cup of java and a peaceful environ at the office. This is good. I love the Shepard Fairey poster and have used it before in art work. You have a glorious day, want the plum cake, OK? Just pass it over and I will be an even more delightful peaceful person in this world than I am now. HUGS!

    Like

  11. I think it’s all been said ! Great poster- great film clip. Thank you Patty x

    Like

  12. mmmmPatty,,,your Zwetschgenkuchen looks “echt”…your mom must come from the Munich area….
    Peace dear friend,,,,,

    Like

  13. Thanks for the clip it’s beautiful! There is nothing better than something made with plums–they add the most wonderful flavour 🙂 and looks so pretty too.

    Like

  14. Happy Peace Day…I’m late in the day seeing this…thanks for the info about blogblast for peace day…I like both the poster and the “coexicst” sign.
    Peace,
    Mary

    Like

  15. That poster is the best — and I say Happy Belated Peace Day to you! (I love coexist — I used to have that bumper sticker on my old car!)

    Like

  16. All good thoughts thank you Patty.
    And the recipe for the plum cake is???????!!!
    Have a great Wednesday.
    Sorry I missed International Day of Peace yesterday – it didn’t appear on my calendar – you know I was there in spirit.
    PS I tried to insert a peace sign but it wouldn’t let me…. I copied and tried to paste but nothing happened – weird???
    Take care
    Shane

    Like

  17. I was planning to create something for this day and didn’t. I was lucky to even get any kind of post up today. I’m so glad you passed on the information. It’s a wonderful tribute to the day and the meaning of the day. I love that poster. In my opinion, it says it all.

    Sorry I’m late getting here. As I mentioned above, I’ve had computer/internet problems this entire day. I have been pulling my hair out, and finally gave up. Shut the computer down three times in a row, and now it seems to be stable (knock on wood) for at least a few visits to my tea friends. Hope you had a great Tea Tuesday, and did you save me a piece of your Mutti’s plum cake? It looks delightful.

    Like

  18. it is a great cause, sign and that plum cake looks scrumptious……..I will go find out more about it!

    Like

  19. i read this earlier and didn’t have a chance to respond. what a wonderful post patty.

    (and i *adore* that make art not war graphic. i’ve seen it before, and if i saw it on a shirt, i’d buy that too…even though i don’t wear tshirts either! )

    Like

  20. Thank you for sharing this theme on PEACE, we all need to consciously advocate it and live it….your tea looks delightful and the plum cake too…happy happy week to you, dear Patty….. hugs steph

    Like

  21. I actually wrote this down on my calendar when you first posted about this event! Didn’t get to participate during my time zone, but did join another one…hey…it’s always noon somewhere, right?! Is that cream cheese in that plum cake? Oh my! I’d gladly “slap some on my hips” {loved that line from your linked post!}….What a terrific poster–beautiful graphics and message! Xo, Sue

    Like

  22. What a beautiful wish ~ I so agree and join you in it! Peace, Joy, and LOVE to you always dear! ~ K

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo