The Craft Barn Q&L Challenge – Childhood & Easier

a quote on childhood along with the little girl image came my way as inspiration for the other side of one of my loose art journal pages for The Craft Barn Quote & Lyric “Childhood and/or Easier” challengeMagpie's Nest Childhood (1)

as a mother of three sons I often feel the surprise of how quickly young children can grow up especially looking back on the more intense child rearing days…

Magpie's Nest Childhood

I like the idea of staying in touch with our inner child so this quote speaks to me too:

“It is never too late to have a happy childhood” -Tom Robbins 

Magpie's Nest Childhood (2)

“Childhood is a short season” -Helen Hayes

 

28 responses to “The Craft Barn Q&L Challenge – Childhood & Easier

  1. What a wonderful textures and image, I loved your sentiment as well, agree totally, I have one son and I can’t tell you how I feel time running!

    Like

  2. A lovely page Patty! With my son just starting work, & my daughter her 2nd uni year, I am realising how quickly the years have passed.
    Hugs,
    Alison xxx

    Like

  3. Oh this is so lovely and so dear! Such precious days indeed!

    Like

  4. It’s a good thing to retain an ‘inner child’. I love this page…it’s so nostalgic.

    Like

  5. Ooh Patty, this is too cute. I love, love this sweet page with a wise quote.
    Hugs,
    sirkkis

    Like

  6. I agree with Tom R. 100%! And, your page is precious. And I appreciate your supplies/tools used picture, too.

    Like

  7. sparkledaysstudio

    Perfect quote. It is fleeting at best. Sweet remembering of the challenges of child rearing and I only have the one son. Hmmm, maybe that’s why. xox

    Like

  8. Childhood IS a short season — it seems like their lives fly by too fast — or is it ours? This is simply lovely Patty.

    Like

  9. A beautiful page! I know Alison Hall and we are in a similar position with a daughter in the 2nd yr of university and a son who has just started work! Those precious years certainly fly by as she points out in her comment! I love the idea that it’s never too late to have a happy childhood, though! I think creativity helps more than anything else to keep us in touch with the innocence and truth of our inner child and a visit to your blog always reminds me of the wonder and joy that this world holds for those who open their hearts. Julie Ann xxx

    Like

  10. i don’t have any children but can still understand how quickly children grow up from watching my Nephew, it seems only a few weeks ago he was toddling around and now he is at College, University comes next year.

    It is most important to keep as close to your inner child as possible, i do this by adding my birthday age together every year, you never get older than 11 (i never add the two 1’s together, you don;t mess with 11’s lol). This year i am 3, just beyond the terrible twos…

    Great post showing such delicate colours and words, lovely project 🙂 xxx

    Like

  11. What a lovely quote! Your page is so sweet Patty! Love that lace stamp! How old are your sons? I know what it is like…just having been with mine for a week- all those younger times rush through your mind and you wish that the clock could turn back- or just stop…xoxo

    Like

  12. I’m thrilled you joined this challenge again. And of course, I simply ADORE the quote and the beautiful page you created. That texture you always get never ceases to amaze me.

    I’ve never had children, but I’ve seen others grow up around me. For example, I can’t believe how much Halle’s kids have grown over the years. When I first “met” her, her youngest was 4. Now her youngest is in Jr. High.

    Like

  13. Patty — I am absolutely in LOVE with this one!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  14. I like the quote you chose, actually I like both of them, and your art is lovely as always. I agree they grow up so fast. I think I blinked and our daughter turned 21!

    Like

  15. this is so lovely-perfect image and quotes too!

    Like

  16. Oh so lovely and beautiful, dear Patty, something so romantic and sweet, and your words so true. Also as grandmother, I feel the years running so fast, and the kids soon both left childhood… with their 14 and 7 years, -and all the stuff the world demands of young children these dayes . I as you agree :“It is never too late to have a happy childhood” and to find ones inner child ! Hugs and xx
    Dorthe

    Like

  17. Beautiful page, so delicate and feminine. Alas the quote is so true…

    Like

  18. Love this Vintage Style of your page, so nice!
    Dearest Greetings
    Sabine

    Like

  19. twinkletoes2day

    Lovely 😀 Very lovely ❤
    Many thanks for your sweet comment on my page too 😀 xo

    Like

  20. Have been out of blogland for nearly one week and catching up now. You’ve been very creative :o) Thanks for sharing the photos, too 🙂

    Like

  21. Such a sweet page!!! Childhood is so fleeting!!! It’s such a treasure indeed!!!

    Like

  22. A Beautiful page, very victorian and such a sweet child image, my daughter may be 30 now but she will always be my little girl.

    Like

  23. Beautiful page Patty! I’m all for keeping the inner child going 🙂 I love your quotes. Especially the one by Tom Robbins. Have a great weekend!! ~Sophia

    Like

  24. A fabulous, dreamy romantic page. Love it and a beautiful quote too x

    Like

  25. I love this, and what a beautiful image you have used! xx

    Like

  26. Your chosen quote is so true. I love the soft colours you have used on your page.

    Like

  27. Such a wonderful quote and dito page. Did you stamp directly into the wet gesso?

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo