Dress Up – September * Swan Song

a new month … time for Margaret’s Dress Up challenge

my September dress was going to be a little black dress … with thoughts of blackboards and such in my head …

until … I added the swan … and before I knew it … pieces of an old lace curtain … a precious gift from a special friend … layered here and there with gel medium … with one white feather …

speaking of precious gifts … special friends and swans … just look at these beautiful and thoughtful treasures … can’t wait to try the Green Tea with Lemon …

a most unique swan made of metal and glass … just imagine an elegant table set with salt cellars like this one … I have never seen anything like it ever before … thank you sweet Jean

nine dresses and counting


“Get my swan costume ready.” ~Anna Pavlova, Russian Ballerina 1882-1931

* * * last chance to sign up for my giveaway which closes tonite at midnight * * *

28 responses to “Dress Up – September * Swan Song

  1. simply GREAT – GREAT – GREAT patty!!! love your dress collection more and more! 🙂

    hughs
    katrin

    Like

  2. BEAUTIFUL dress Patty!!! and Jean’s pressie is precious…love the swan…

    Like

  3. Love the dress Patty.. turned out beautiful.. and that swan is amazing.. what a lovely pressie to receive.. hope you have a lovely weekend..xo

    Like

  4. Patty; love this dress! Your “wardrobe” is exquisite! Lace curtains are perfect for this! Have a safe and happy weekend ahead! Love – Marilyn

    Like

  5. darling swan costume! pavlova would be happy!! LOL!! xoxo

    Like

  6. The dress is beautiful! And the gift you got is fab!!! Love that salt cellar!

    Like

  7. Just love that graceful swan hidden behind the lace! Great dress.

    Like

  8. I like your little dress! Obviously you have a collection on the go. Do I guess that you like swans??

    Like

  9. Such an exquisite and creative little dress, Patty! And the little white feather is the perfect embellishment for this couture creation. Thank you for sharing your wonderful goodies! Hope you have a wonderful Holiday weekend! Hugs, Terri xoxo

    Like

  10. Ah well it’s a little black dress with a twist ! Very lovely too. Perhaps to wear to the ballet – Swan Lake ?

    Like

  11. Oh patty again so lovely dress.
    Absolutely darling.

    Have a wonderful weekend my friend. Hugs.

    Like

  12. i know how that goes…the evolution of a project.this turned out gorgeous!

    Like

  13. I can see the beginnings of a blackboard style dress, but really love how this developed. This is beautiful and the feather is the perfect touch. So impressive. That wardrobe is really filling up quickly.

    BTW, that salt cellar is adorable. It’s been awhile since I’ve seen a salt cellar, much less anything this elegant.

    Like

  14. Die Kleidchen sind einfach wunderbar! Total süß Patty

    Like

  15. the lace is wonderful, it so fits the swan in the background. You have been spoiled by your friend, enjoy 🙂

    Like

  16. Lovely September dress… Perfect for a September wedding…

    Like

  17. AH…the swan with the little feather as an embellishment…just perfect.

    Like

  18. Lovely dress, Patty. Such a fabulous project. This is your day for swans! As for me, I can’t believe another month has passed by! The feather is a fantastic addition to the dress. I didn’t get it until right now…hmmm…not thinking too clearly!

    Like

  19. I love your swandress and the metal with glass swan – never saw anything like that too (and my dad had an antique store!) So precious!!! I did see the swan ballet though (14 years ago already!) Enjoy your weekend dear friend!

    Like

  20. I think Pavlova would have loved your dress…it is beautiful!

    Like

  21. Ahhhhhh, so nicely done, girlfriend….. Gorgeous! Love the swan beneath! Hugs, M

    Like

  22. dont you where art takes you… start off with one idea and finish up with something completly different and stunning 🙂
    that salt cellar is beautiful to, ive not seen one like that either…

    Like

  23. Hi Patty, thank you for visiting my blog and leaving such lovely comments (as a new blogger this is very encouraging and I really appreciate you taking the time to comment. Thank you.) I have got my act together and have now actually “hung up” Septembers dress. Cheers fom Gayle at Bliss&Gesso.

    Like

  24. Beautiful Lace dress love it.

    Like

  25. What a beautiful dress….that swan is just lovely gliding behind the lace. I started out with a pale yellow dress in mind and went a different direction completely! It’s an artists perogative to change our minds! LOL 🙂 Nan

    Like

  26. The dress is so pretty 🙂 its so fairy like

    Like

  27. Beautiful dress, I love the added lace.

    Like

  28. Lovely dress, I would wear this to the most elegant affair!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo