Live in the moment…

some old encyclopedias are ideal for altering

I especially like the pages of The Illustrated Science and Invention “how it works” Encyclopedia that I rescued (Volume 13)…

instead of gluing pages together like I most often do….

I punched holes in the corners of some of the pages…

for now they are held loosely together with wire ties…

when I am ready to finish the book I will add ribbons or something more permanent…

the scraped paint pages that I worked on yesterday had been waiting a long time for attention and barely fit on my art table…

looking back it would have been nice if I’d taken a photo of the “before” stage but you know how it is when you finally get busy creating…

I stamped the words “Live in the moment” a few weeks ago and the book sat again…

yesterday I went upstairs and noticed the perfect arch photo that I had printed off from our trip to Puerto Rico…

I used a hand carved bird stamp of mine from years ago to stamp on map paper for the right side…

the doodled bit came about from a pattern that was showing through the scraped paint so I added to it and used that to embellish the page a bit…

six spreads completed with more pages to go…

35 responses to “Live in the moment…

  1. I love these – the color, the stamps, the doodling, all of it – they are lovely!!

    Like

  2. As usual, lovely creations… Each page is work of art–a work of passion. Have a great weekend!

    Like

  3. amazing Patty! I just love it all – especially your hand carved raven stamp! beautiful!

    Like

  4. Oh my goodness…. haven’t been to see you for ages and now I have just discovered your wonderful art journal. This is absoloutely glorious.. the freedom …. the colours…. the diversity…… just beautiful Patty. An inspiration. Stay well and happy xxxxx

    Like

  5. Hi Patty. What a brilliant idea. The pages look amazing. Have a great weekend.
    Regards Florence x

    Like

  6. Dot Ferrero

    Wonderful…keep sending.

    Like

  7. Wow, I’m missing words, those pages are fantastic, really a great project.

    Like

  8. Patty ,your journal is the most beautiful collection of art pages- I so love your colours, and that there is blue in all of them, makes them like a whole- even with different stories – and your handcarved stamp-is fantastic!
    Hugs to you- and a great week-end for you and your husbond.
    Dorthe

    Like

  9. Fabulous and beautiful project. I love your idea of the punched holes with the wire fasteners! Brilliant! xxoo

    Like

  10. GORGEOUS pages, my friend!!!
    Hugs from Norway

    Like

  11. Love them Patty! And the idea of holding them together with wire or ribbon instead of gluing which I hate! Your photo of the arch is gorgeous, It makes me want to walk into the page. xoxo

    Like

  12. Amazing to watch take shape, each page is terrific and I Love your words to express how it is coming to be, the arch, the bird, etc. ,…… just amazing as I have already said.

    Like

  13. Wow that was a very creative and a beautiful work of art…I took a stroll through your older posts and am glad to have found you 🙂

    Like

  14. Where did you buy the UHU gluestick? I’ve been wondering what to do with my Set of Encyclopedias!!!! Why do you glue two pages together?

    Like

  15. marmeladegypsy

    Patty, this is a stunner. I sure do wish I could sit in your studio and soak up your knowledge for a week or two or ten! This is beautiful. Here’s a question — Is there a reason why you stick the pages together (or wire them) at the beginning instead of waiting til you have done your pages? I suppose it could get messy if you were gluing them, but couldn’t you just turn ten or however many pages and start the next and then stick them together at the end? I’ve never done a fully altered book before!

    Like

  16. Your pages are sooooo beautiful, dear Patty.

    Like

  17. You make the ultimate collages. They look so natural and well designed. I’m glad you are playing. It looks like your time away from your art room has paid off. Now I need it to happen for me (grin).

    Like

  18. Patty, this is the most beautiful art-journal I have had the pleasure of looking at online. I can’t imagine how much more wonderful it must be in person- Looking forward to see what you do next 🙂

    Like

  19. once again I am awed and inspired …I love that you stamped it and walked away for a week..I have had the hardest time realizing that things will wait for me and it’sOK!! Coming from an assignment background with deadlines looming there was never any time to wait. Now I know that some of my most inpired monments come when I allow things to simmer it has been a slow process but a relief too! Thanks for being such an inspiration! This book is fabulous!

    Like

  20. What an amazing set of pages. Really fun and unique. And what a great way to attach a group of pages!

    Like

  21. These are gorgeous. I love how you are able to make your collage pieces into one cohesive image. When I grow up I want to be just like you. 🙂

    Like

  22. C’est tout simplement magnifique, quel travail, quelle perfection, bravo Patty.
    Bizzzz
    MAPY

    Like

  23. LOVE!!!! your hand carved stamp and your journal pages-well done!

    Like

  24. So love your pages! I do love the arched image …. what is it about arches that we love them so? They seem so sheltering. And your bird stamp is sooo cool! I can’t wait to get into my new art room and create!!

    Like

  25. thsi sjournal is already shaping up to be absolutely fantastic….loving all the beautiful soft layers and colors patty….

    Like

  26. Carmen Dyson

    Love this. So artful!

    Like

  27. fantastic link Deana
    here is another altered book artist that makes my jaw drop with his creations:
    http://centripetalnotion.com/2007/09/13/13:26:26/

    Like

  28. stempelchaotin

    OMG !!!!
    These pages are the best Patty.
    Your journal work is a fest and a wonderful inspiration to me.
    Wow wow wow wow wow wow you must make a online class Sweetie. xoxo

    Like

  29. absolutely fantastic, I love all the pages shown here – especially the birds of course ;-))

    Like

  30. alteredattic

    I love what you’re doing with the old encyclopedia – brilliant! The colors, images, it’s amazing!!

    Like

  31. Pingback: Journal Journeys Challenge 11 | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  32. Pingback: Soartful Challenge “Trees” | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  33. Beautiful pages!!! Love all your work. I’m always in awe…. ~Sophia

    Like

  34. Pingback: Doors of Old San Juan * Puerto Rico | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo