macaroon tea

on our flight home from Switzerland last month…

wonderfulawesomebrilliant Switzerland…

we had a stop over at Heathrow Airport in London…

as sweet Margaret pointed out...it’s a shopping opportunity…so we decided to make the most of it…

I got some royal wedding magazines…along with the Heathrow ‘freebie’ magazine that had my name on it…oh India!!!

many years ago my sister…quite the world traveler…started me out on my first Harrod’s bag

since then I have gotten to add to my collection a wee bit…

the oil cloth makes them very sturdy and handy…

with so many designs and sizes to chose from…they were having a little sale at the airport Harrod’s….

I am also a fan of pretty boxes and this is where the macaroons come in…there was a pretty green carriage style cart at Heathrow’s Terminal 5 that really called me…not sure why I didn’t take a photo of it???..

the macaroons were tasty but truly the packaging is what spoke to me…that pink of the rose flavored biscuit looked a bit artificial to me…but each one was very tasty…

there were lots of flavors…we chose two of four different ones…Ladurée is credited with inventing the double decker macaroon…I think I was happiest with the pretty box and bag…

Happy T Tuesday to one and all…you can visit Kimmie for lots of fun tea links

25 responses to “macaroon tea

  1. I think that is what I will tell my friend to get me when she goes to London – a Harrod’s bag!!!!Simple, and she can carry all HER stuff home in it!! LOL

    Like

  2. Kathy Kristinnson

    Morning Patty… love those bags.. and that box is divine.. think I’d go for that rather than the pink cookies…lol but do love macaroons… have a loverly day! xx

    Like

  3. pity l didn’t know you were stopping over in heathrow..would have come and shared a coffee with you and a few of those gorgeous macaroons!xx love the harrod bags. Ever need a new onw..just yell. It is just down the road from me!!!!x lynda

    Like

  4. Wow, those Harrod’s bags are lovely. I must do an internet search to see what I’ve been missing. I’m with you on the macaroon bag and box. They look much lovelier than the macaroons. Lately my taste for coconut has changed, so they don’t appeal to me at all. But I can see that box landing in several art projects.

    BTW, I saw your comment to Halle about rusting fabric. Glad you rusted some. Hope you rinsed in soda water afterward. Can’t wait to see what you rusted. You have so many lovely old fabric and lace pieces to choose from. Have a lovely Tea Tuesday.

    Like

  5. Absolutely LOVE all those Harrods Bags. What a fine collection. Better than tea for me!

    Like

  6. I do love international airports that include great shopping while you are waiting around. Looks like you picked up lots of wonderful items. We went to India last year — loved the whole experience. Have a terrific day. Tammy

    Like

  7. Shopping at in international airport sounds like a great experience! I have to now check out your link for the Harrods bags, I’ve never heard of them. Happy Tuesday Patty!

    Like

  8. I haven’t eaten a macaroon in ages… I almost forgot about them! You make me hungry Patty!!! And as I read your post, a nice cup of Earl Grey stands beside me. How appropriate, don’t you think?! Enjoy the day dearest!

    Like

  9. Patty…I’m testing this to see if it works.

    Like

  10. What fun things you picked on your travel. Awesome bags.

    Like

  11. well that was certainly time well spent! you got some great take aways from your trip and those macaroons looked too good to eat but that wouldn’t have stopped me 😉
    Peace
    Dawn

    Like

  12. happy tea day, and what pretty bags! they are just wonderful… and mmm good macaroons… been a long time since I had one… being gf! xox

    Like

  13. Patty,
    What a lovely post! I love your purse collection. I didn’t even know they existed so now I can crave something more! I have always craved Laduree macarons and was positive they would be the best thing I have even had in my life but no longer. That’s probably a good thing. Life has had some really difficult moments and have been longing to write to you more but it’s so complicated that I can barely explain!
    Sending you love anyway!
    Suz

    Like

  14. What lovely bags!!! I imagine the macaroons were delicious. Glad you had such a wonderful shopping adventure!

    Like

  15. What a marvelous bag collection! The biscuits look too pretty to eat. Macaroons are among my favorite…and they remind me of my dear dad.

    Loved your post. Happy tea Tuesday.

    oxo

    Like

  16. Great shopping! I know I can always count on you to find the good stuff!!!!!!

    Like

  17. I think I would have bought all the same things! Every single one!

    Like

  18. Wow, awesome bags 🙂 lovely cup and cookies too! Happy Tea Day 😉

    I can’t seem to access Kimmies blog to add my name, it worked last night, maybe later I’ll try again 🙂

    Like

  19. our hearts beat as one when you mentioned being attracted to the box first..ha ha…I do that all the time…..and Heathrow is a nice place to shop and so is Singapore… ;))) happy Summer to you dear friend…

    Like

  20. It will be fun to see that lovely paperboard packaging turn up in some pretty thing you make! Your bags are so fun …. You have a great collection there!
    Hugs, kimmie

    Like

  21. oh i love those harrod’s bags. i once asked someone who was visiting to pick up “one of those harrod’s bags” for me. she came back with a plastic bag. like the kind they put your kind of bag inside after you buy it! lol oh well… i’ll just have to make the trip out there myself. ya know, if you want something done right… 😉

    you have such a fun collection of them. the rain boots (er, wellies) are cute!

    Like

  22. Sweetie ~
    Your trip memories and finds keeps on giving and giving us more and more insights to the delightful lands you visited. I am loving reading about each and every one of them. I love to hear the stories wrapped around your treasures. it is one of the things that keeps me coming back to visit you. Blessing sweet friend!

    Like

  23. Oh my!! Such wonderful items. And the cookies…well. Many sighs are coming from me!!!
    xo
    lynn
    ps have you been to India? Crazy great place to be!

    Like

  24. Fab bag collection Patty, love the legs bag! As for the macaroons, I totally understand about the packaging, bought them myself for the very same reason! Enjoy! Mx

    Like

  25. Those Harrods bags are great! They look sturdy enough to take to the market. The solid green one reminds me the most of Harrods. But now whenever I think of Harrods I immediately think of Princess Diana.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo