…memory of the heart…

thank you all for your precious Thanksgiving wishes and I hope that everyone that celebrated had a lovely holiday…

I will share a little of our holiday escape to the mountains in my upcoming Tea Tuesday post…

today I wanted to show you a couple of pages I have been working on for a little while now…

after the spring nesting season earlier this year I ended up with a broken Robin’s egg collection…

I tucked them into a tiny bowl with plans to use those pretty shades of “blue” in a collage some day…

my small fragile Funk & Wagnalls Encyclopedia/Art Journal pages

(each page measures 4×6″)

had a couple of pages gessoed and ready for more attention with a piece of film stapled on the left…

too bad I didn’t take photos of my pages all along the way…

but you know how it goes when you get busy playing…

the camera is in another location and you just keep working away and before you know it…

well here are my finished pages…

I brushed on some thick gel medium and crushed the shells in place liking that some of the book page was left exposed on the top right…

that image was way too nice to cover up…

a piece of my Citra Solv paper where I included rubber stamping and rub ons added a nice layer as well…

I wrote Love with a white Sharpie Water Based poster pen outlined in fine black marker…

I really like the black and white image of the amazing artist Albrecht Dürer who just happened to be handy on my work table

more eggshells on the left side along with tissue tape and a scrap piece of paper used to protect my work table…I left the strip of film loose at the bottom and made a list of some of the things I am grateful for underneath…

this page was intentionally left a bit open with room for all the unknown blessings already on their way with more to be grateful for…

“Gratitude is the memory of the heart.” ~Jean Baptiste Massieu, translated from French

31 responses to “…memory of the heart…

  1. Patty! Absolutely stunning and I just love the broken robin’s eggs – beautiful blue and such meaningful art as always.

    I hope you and yours had a wonderful Thanksgiving; can’t wait to read about it Tuesday.

    We had a fine holiday and we are now enjoying these “spring” temps 🙂

    xxoo Marilyn

    Like

  2. Your page turned out really pretty. I think you did justice to those blue robin’s eggs. I especially like the piece of film strip that you stapled in there. Love those pieces of “vintage” tid-bits.
    Peace~

    Like

  3. Exquisite! Wow, words fail me! Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving! I was away in Chicago visiting my mom, so was away from the computer before and after, so sending my holiday wishes for love and joy and lots of turkey!

    Like

  4. Gorgeous pages, dear Patty. Have a great 1. Advent-Sunday.

    Like

  5. I love this so much–everything about it! Never would’ve thought to add the robin’s egg shells, but they’re perfect…what a gorgeous color.

    Like

  6. OMG OMG OMG sweetie this is fantastic.
    So great design. Brilliant work as always.

    Like

  7. That is SO clever to crush the eggs. The texture reminds me of old paved streets…..perhaps your shells are leading us to search through your pages to see your blessings?

    That shade of blue ~ soothing. I like the filmstrip with it’s crispness and darkness that is keeping blessings underneath.

    Brilliant!

    Like

  8. Truly a beautiful piece of work 🙂 the egg shells are such a lovely addition.

    Like

  9. Those eggshells are really such a gorgeously subtle blue. Great idea to use them on your very creative pages. I like the bits of the page peeking through, and the whole thing has a really ancient look to it.

    Like

  10. You must be so proud of this page Patty!
    The egg shells are the perfect embellishment – ribbons and jewels can’t match nature’s adornments!
    hugs
    Shane x

    Like

  11. Love the colour of the eggshells, and the page is superb – it really does them justice.

    Like

  12. WOW!!!!! Love your page!!!
    Hugs
    Oxana

    Like

  13. These pages are amazing, Patty! I love the one with the crushed eggs .Beautiful colors and background.
    Kate

    Like

  14. Stunning pages Patty… so love what you did with the broken egg shells… looks so fabulous…

    Have a happy day
    Jenny x

    Like

  15. Holy son=of=a-gun you can get a lot of art onto a small canvas and it looks just darn incredible, beautiful, and though-provoking. Oh, yes, did I tell you I love the two pages you created. Those robin eggs are lovely and so fragile. Hugs, girlfriend.

    Like

  16. I love the color of robin’s eggs..and your journal pages are awesome!!!
    Thank you Patty!!!

    Like

  17. I never, in a million years, would have thought of using the actual robin eggs! I thought you would use the photo of the eggs you had taken in your art and was blown away when I discovered you’d actually used the eggs themselves. Great idea!

    Like

  18. It’s wonderful. You always amaze me. I would never have even considered putting those egg shells on there. They are perfect!

    Like

  19. You are SUCH an inspiration. I have several old film strips that I had no idea how to use, and you have just shown me one possibility. And then you used those gorgeous blue egg shells that couldn’t have been prettier had you dyed them. I hope your Thanksgiving was joyous.

    Like

  20. I’m in ooh and aah Patty! The colour and use of the eggshells is sublime! Doesn’t it crack when you close the book? I’ve been thinking about using materials like that, but I’m a bit affraid to put it on pages in a book…

    Like

  21. These very pages are ..you. Si intese and meaningful!

    Like

  22. Patty, this piece is just brilliant, fantastic, totally awesome, wow, what more can I say. Love it.
    Have a wonderful holiday season my dear friend.
    Wishes
    MARTINA

    Like

  23. Creative and stunning, Patty! What a fabulous way to use those gorgeous eggshells! You’re amazing! ♥ Hugs, Terri xoxo

    Like

  24. How cool, your altered pages are fantastic. Thanks again for sharing all the wonderful photos.

    Like

  25. Oh this turned out beautifully!!! Don’t you just love the color of Robin’s eggs? I would love to paint a room that color!

    Like

  26. Pingback: Marit’s “Quirky Dutch Summer #1″ | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  27. Pingback: nesting … | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  28. Pingback: Second on the 2nd for November 2015 | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  29. Pingback: Second on the 2nd for November 2015…Memory of the Heart | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  30. Love this page. The pages them self look so fragile and then adding the crushed shells just builds on that ♡♡♡♡. You always amaze me with your creativity 🙂 Live the quote too.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo