The Gallery Inn of Old San Juan…

overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and old fortress walls

we spent the first six nights of our recent getaway at The Gallery Inn

we knew after looking at the website that it would be special…

we just had no idea how completely grand and full of art…

with many thanks to Mrs. Busy B Jessica for telling us about it…

we were immediately charmed

with photo opportunities at every turn…

our rooftop room had a large veranda with a hot tub…

which was perfect for relaxing after making the climb up Calle San Justo each day back to the inn…

we decided against renting a car and enjoyed strolling the cobblestone streets and taking the occasional free trolley ride…

the inn boasts a rooftop deck that is the highest point in Old San Juan offering fabulous 360 degree vistas…

we discovered pots of night blooming fragrant blossoms on our terrace that reminded us of the moon flower vine we had growing in Virginia one summer…

day or evening the inn and gardens are captivating and magical…

there are charming nooks and lush inviting areas everywhere you look…

and a lovely spot with the morning sun streaming in on our cafe con leche with fresh fruit and toast…

we were charmed by the face key “rings” for each room and bought one as a souvenir…

our traveling tea cup felt right at home…

there is so much to tell about this one of a kind boutique hotel and

its resident artist Jan D’esopo and her beloved Campeche

 the “social director” who really took to Mr Magpie…

everyone was so gracious and welcoming…

it was not easy to leave but El Convento was waiting for us…

I missed you all for tea the last couple of weeks and even though part of me is still in Old San Juan I look forward to visiting with you over at Kimmie’s Art in Red Wagons

42 responses to “The Gallery Inn of Old San Juan…

  1. What a fabulous trip you had, Patty! I have not been to Old San Juan since I was 13 and in so many ways it has not changed. Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful photos, I feel as though I was with you!
    Karen xo

    Like

  2. That tea cup gets around! What charming and beautiful views you have captured through the lens of your camera. Perfect for Tea Tuesday and such a charming post. Everything looked so beautiful, from the books on the stairs to the frescoes on the inn outer wall. Such a magical place truly came alive under your camera’s spell.

    Like

  3. huge sighs of visual pleasure! what priceless memories you’ve added to your “i’ll keep forever” place. my wanderlust spirit via your post has kidnapped my thoughts…

    such gorgeous details, colors, texture, ecletic, eccentric, etc. thruout these photos…a visual feast…such a treat for you to share it with us!

    Like

  4. Oh wow, Patty, these pictures are absolutely incredible! Such beauty. I’m going to look at these a few times today, just to drink in the details! Love the picture of the birthday boy, Mr. Magpie! Say hello!

    Like

  5. Thank you for sharing Patty. Your pictures bring back fond memories of Old San Juan for me. So happy you had such a wonderful trip! xoxo

    Like

  6. Totally charming……look at those books stacked on the way up the stairs! Your keyring is so FUN….no wonder you bought one.
    Oh, Patty, the INN is just gorgeous with the colors and textures surrounding you…….a home away from home. Every turn of the corner offers more candy for the eye!!! And not renting a car is the BEST idea! You are then able to stroll and see the ‘real’ town. We hope to do the exact same thing when we go to Monterey this fall. No car…walk and explore. Have you been there?
    Thanks for the fun video of the bird dance! And SHE is beautiful with her orange and turquoise!!!
    I’m putting Old San Juan on the ‘bucket’ list for sure! It looks like our kid of place. Laid back and relaxing!

    Like

  7. OMG, what a great trip, Patty! Wonderful pictures! Thank you so much for sharing!

    Like

  8. Breathtaking photos Patty! And; I want to live in that Inn! I would walk around touching everything! What a delightful trip and thanks so much for sharing it with us! xxoo

    Like

  9. Fabulous shots Patty….you make me want to go back to the islands:)…the tourist board probably wants to use your fotos……….gotta go …the islands await me……..

    Like

  10. Puerto Rico looks beautiful…….what a very fun place you stayed in…..thanks for sharing your photos:)

    Like

  11. Wow!! your photos are gorgeous and probably don’t even do justice to the actual place. I bet it was hard to pack up and leave. Home is always wonderful to get back to, but man, what a trip eh?
    Happy T on T~
    Dawn

    Like

  12. what a beautiful place! and you’re right, your cup looked right at home!! that balcony view, omgoodness!! i think i need to go there…xo happy t day, dearest

    Like

  13. Oh my…I want to move there. It looks so glorious!! Such gorgeous photos. I bet it was hard to narrow it down for today’s post. 🙂

    Like

  14. That place is beyond beautiful Patty. You must’ve had a blissful time.

    Like

  15. love your travel cup… and of course PR never looked lovlier… so pretty thru your eyes Patty, sounds like you and Mr had a great visit…xox

    Like

  16. What a wonder-filled vacation spot and your pictures are magnifico! Each one is better than the one before. I’m enjoying visiting your blog each day, it’s like taking a day trip!

    Like

  17. what an amazing place!!! I’m so glad you could have a getaway – and boy it really looks like you were able to Get Away!!! wow!

    Like

  18. Patty, these photos are wonderful, seems to be a fantastic place. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  19. looks like you had a wonderful trip, awesome 🙂 and you even made a feathery friend, yay! (my great grandpa had a parrot, pretty smart little thing 🙂

    Like

  20. Oh I so want to go there !! It looks absolutely amazing. Your little hotel looks so, so exotic and beautiful and truly ‘lived in’. Wonderful photos Patty, thank you so much for sharing. We are traveling this year in Sep. to Europe, if you know of any little hotels similar to this in Spain, France or Italy I would love to hear about them. Enjoy your tea today ( loved that your tea cup went with you on your holiday ) xx

    Like

  21. oh wow Patty, what a beautiful place, definately somewhere id love to go too…..just magic 🙂

    Like

  22. Magnifiques photos, très beau voyage. Merci pour le partage.
    MAPY

    Like

  23. It is soooooooo beautiful. I think I may need to go there! Do you think they talked about the Americans that brought their own china? rofl

    Like

  24. I have made myself a mental note…we must travel to San Juan in the near future. The gardens and foliage are perfect inspiration for any artist. Muchos Gracias . Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    Like

  25. Hi sweetie,

    Wow what for wonderful photos from a lovely place.
    Thanks so much for sharing us. A little feeling.
    Have a lovely day my dear friend. xoxo

    Like

  26. This placde looks fantastic as are your photos. Hope you had a great vacation

    Like

  27. what a great pictures Patty, you must have had a great time overthere!!

    Like

  28. OhMy… what a fabulous place to stay! Remind me of it, when I win the lottery… I want to head that way then! I even do my very best to pursuit my mr. to come (we’re both non-travelers you know…!)

    Like

  29. Dear Patty,
    To say that your Inn was capitvating and magical seems like an understatement. How about gorgeous and heavenly and peaceful and glorious and out of this world amazing! Thanks so much for this wonderful tour with fabulous pictures to travel by. And thank goodness for your traveling tea cup! Your post just puts a huge smile on my face!!! xxoo

    Like

  30. Oh my, Patty! I could live there. What a fantastic place. So much character. I think I would never want to leave, ever. Glad you had a great trip. Best wishes, Tammy

    Like

  31. How incredibly beautiful!!! I oohed and aahhhed over every picture-now that’s my kind of place-and OMG that gorgeous cane seated chair!!! My hubby taught himself to recane chairs because he loves the antique/ old ones so…thanks for sharing your awesome trip!!

    Like

  32. what a lovely place!!wish i could go one day.. theres one street you showed that quite similar to here.. i have taken carnival photos.. when dd has the chance i will show them to you..hugs P

    Like

  33. Oh Patty how utterly scrumptious a place to visit! Such lush beauty I am afraid I will only enjoy through other’s photos and dreaming. Thanks so much for sharing your magical stay in such a magical spot.

    Like

  34. Oh my gosh Patty… how FABULOUS… I LOVE it… so amazing with all those gorgeous pics… and overlooking the ocean… WOW… I so want to go there now too… thank you so much for sharing…

    Hugs
    Jenny x

    Like

  35. Oh my goodness Patty….your photos are superb! What a terrific hotel you stayed in…perfect for you and Mr Magpie who are the kind of people who would fully appreciate its beauty 🙂
    I think you need to make a book of this holiday…..
    XX

    Like

  36. these pictures are putting me one step away of re-mortgaging my house and flying myself to this spot! It is SO MEEEE!!!! I want to go! This place is perfection!!!!! xo

    Like

  37. could it be more beautiful?? you captured wonderful photos and i really wish i could go there… thanks for sharing…

    Like

  38. Wow, thanks for sharing xox

    Like

  39. Pingback: Treasure Tea… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  40. Pingback: Stone Angel Sunday 6 | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  41. Wowee!!! I can’t figure out which part I love most! The broken brick wall over the empty swimming pool is so fascinating! I also love, love, love the photo of Mr. Magpie and the cockatoo! I’m sure the view from the rooftop was AMAZING! Missing PR for sure!

    Like

  42. Pingback: Flieder…bzy …liliowy …lilas …seringen …lillà …syrener …lilacs | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo